Pony Up – Stay Gold


Product Description

“Recorded in the spring of 2008 at the now legendary Hotel2Tango studio
in Montreal, Canada, with producer Murray Lightburn (singer/song-writer
/producer of the Dears) Pony Up’s latest release, Stay Gold, is without
question their most cultivated, mighty and romping release to date. Fusing
the playful and satirical energy of their self-titled debut with the melancholic
introspection of Make Love to the Judges with your Eyes the ladies have
forged a true nonpareil of the late-indie scene. First breaking the songs into
their smaller working parts, Lightburn has reincarnated the music in his own
pop-noir-romantique image, honing and edifying the group’s arrangements
and soundscapes. The sonic topography has become detailed, ornate and
sprawling, if not wholly epic in its scope and ferocity. Think here of war-like
Athena leading on horseback a cavalry of sirens down your aural canals to
takeas hostage your heart; think of the mendacious promise to which you
knowingly submit, let come the deluge, let come the flame. Stay Gold,
out on Laughing Outlaw Records (Australia), is Pony Up in opulent
and martial array: come in, won’t you, surrender in the sultry glow.”

1. Manchild
2. A Crutch Or A Cradle
3. Making More Beneath
4. Charles >LISTEN
5. Fort (Made of Bed Sheets)
6. Sounds Like My Wedding Night
7. Power of 8
8. Bastard Children
9. Storyteller
10. 2 sq ft

SKU: PUVVN01 Category: Tags: ,