June 10 # Keiji Haino + Preterite + Esprits Frappeurs # Sala Rossa


Keiji Haino (born 1952 in Japan) currently performs as a vocalist, guitarist, and percussionist, on hurdy-gurdy, tone generators, and a myriad of ethnic and ancient instruments. Previous bands and projects include Lost Aaraaff, God’s Orchestra White One Man Theatre, Fushitsusha, Nijiumu, Vajra, Aihiyo, Knead (with Ruins), Head Rush, Kikuri and Sanhedrin.

He currently performs in a vast array of contexts and forms:  solo, with Fushitsusha (currently duo with bassist Yasushi Ozawa) and Aihiyo, and in collaboration with musicians both Japanese and foreign (previous collaborators are too many to mention, but have included Motoharu Yoshizawa, Kazutoki Umezu, Yoshisaburo Toyozumi, Shuichi Chino, Ayuo Takahashi, Michiyo Yagi, Yukuhiro Isso, John Zorn, Bill Laswell, Peter Brotzmann, Thurston Moore, Barre Phillips, Faust, Tony Conrad, Mayo Thompson, AMM, Z’EV, Derek Bailey, Christian Marclay, Fred Frith, Lauren Mazzacane Coners…). He has released well in excess of 100 records and CDs.



Geneviève Beaulieu is one half of Montreal-based Menace Ruine (Alien8 Recordings/Aurora Borealis) as well as having been involved in a variety of earlier ventures, always at the core of the creative process, principally as a guitarist, vocalist and lyricist.

James Hamilton has been active in experimental music circles since the end of the 80’s, running the Dystonia EK label (1989-2009), and making ascetic electroacoustic/acousmatic music as Column, Annihilist and since 1999 as Nebris. Preterite is their collaboration.

Utilising primarily acoustic – though occasionally electric – instrumentation and centered on Genevieve’s distinctive voice, Preterite represents a shift away from the denser sounds of the duo’s respective projects and towards austere but richly textured songs. Their first album, ‘Pillar of Winds’ is released by Beta-Lactam Ring Records in Spring 2011.



Esprits Frappeurs is a collaboration exploring digital voice processing and occult psychedelia between vocalist Philippe Lambert (Monstre, Goa), musician Alexandre St-Onge (Shalabi Effect) and filmmaker Karl Lemieux (Double Negative).


Share on Twitter

Leave a comment

Your comment